Home | Notice Board | ITRC is now NDLM Training Partner

ITRC is now NDLM Training Partner


Making one person in every family digitally literate is one of the integral components of the Prime Minister 's vision of “Digital India”The National Digital Literacy Mission (NDLM) envisages initially to provide Information Communication and Technology (ICT) training to 10 lakh (Ten lakh) persons, one in every eligible household in selected Blocks in each State/ UT of the country. Out of 10 lakh, 9 lakh will be trained through government machinery and 1 lakh through Industry, NGOs and others through their own resources/ under Corporate Social Responsibility. The objective is to impart basic ICT skills relevant to the need of the trainees, which would enable the citizens to use IT and related applications and participate actively in the democratic process and further enhance opportunities for their livelihood. The persons shall be able to access information, knowledge and skill through the use of digital devices.

The Scheme is to be implemented in each State/ UT across the country. The States/ UTs are categorized into three broad categories, Category A, B and C, based on their population. Implementation of the Scheme is to be carried out in around 5 – 7 Districts in Category A States, 4 – 5 Districts in Category B States and 2 – 3 Districts in Category C States/ UTs.


“Digital Literacy is the ability of individuals and communities to understand and use digital technologies for meaningful actions within life situations”.

Two levels of training under the SCHEME

The two levels of IT training envisaged under the Scheme will have the following broad objectives:

Appreciation of Digital Literacy (Level 1)

To make a person IT literate, so that he/ she can operate digital devices, like mobile phones, tablets, etc., send and receive emails and search Internet for information, etc.

Basics of Digital Literacy (Level 2)

Besides IT literacy at a higher level, the citizen would also be trained to effectively access the various e-Governance services being offered to the citizen by the Government and other agencies.

Eligibility Criteria

Level 1 : Non-IT literate - Illiterate and upto 7th standard pass

Level 2 : Non-IT literate with atleast 8th standard pass

Age : 14 to 60 years

Course Duration

Level 1 : 20 Hours (Minimum 10 Days and Maximum 30 Days)

Level 2 : 40 Hours (Minimum 20 Days and Maximum 60 Days)

Medium of Instruction

Level 1 and 2 : Official Languages of India


Level 1 : For SC/ ST/ BPL Households, no training fee payable and for General candidates, course fee of Rs. 125 applicable.

Level 2 : For SC/ ST/ BPL Households, no training fee payable and for General candidates, course fee of Rs. 250 applicable.

Place of Learning

The eligible households can nominate one person from their family. The selected person to get himself enrolled under this programme in a nearest Training Centre/ Common Service Center (CSC).


Independent external evaluation will be conducted by a National level certifying agency like NIELIT, NIOS, IGNOU, etc.

The digital literacy training will be provided at two levels:

  • email Email to a friend
  • print Print version
No tags for this article